Openshaw Citadel

Openshaw Citadel was the third Salvation Army corps opened in Manchester. A comparison of corps incomes in suggests that Lower Openshaw had a large number of soldiers with little money when it opened in 1884. Lower Openshaw corps became known as 'Poor man's Palace'. It closed in the 1970s when the Corps moved to Grosvenor St., Manchester (previously known as the Temple). Later it moved to Sale.

The building is still there, albeit used as a garage.

Coordinates: 53°28′29″N 2°11′46″W / 53.4748°N 2.1960°W / 53.4748; -2.1960

This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 6/21/2015. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.